I Will Be Your Guardian

Last year I rented “Rise of the Guardians” for my son to watch.  We both ended up watching it and it quickly became one of our favorite animated films.  I still cannot get enough of this movie.  It has such an awesomely, special message.  If you haven’t seen it, here is a short synopsis:

Santa Claus, the Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny and the Sandman are all “Guardians” and appointed by the Man in the Moon to be guardians of childhood.  They all fight the evil “Pitch” who is the boogie man, basically.  Enters Jack Frost, newly chosen to be a guardian.  He fought the appointment and wanted to be rogue.  They all end up coming together to fight Pitch and his evil nightmares to save the day and children’s dreams.

It is really an uplifting movie and my synopsis does not do it justice.  I just love the message that it sends.  It is just a neat idea that these icons of childhood are the guardians of childhood.  Not only is the message phenomenal, but so is the animation.

Later in the year, I had the opportunity to order books through my son’s school Scholastic book program.  I decided to order a book called “Man in the Moon” by William Joyce.  The cover looked so fantastic and felt the illustration would be equally so.  When the book finally arrived, I read the book flap which revealed that William Joyce was also behind the Rise of the Guardians.  I read this wondrous book to my child at bedtime.  What an amazing book!  I highly recommend this book and the film.  I cannot wait to buy other books from the series.  There is another picture book called The Sandman and there are other chapter books that he has also written for the older book reader.  I hope beyond hopes that my child loves to read as much as I do and I also hope beyond hopes that he will enjoy the chapter books by William Joyce.

After reading “The Man in the Moon” to my son, he asks if I am a guardian.  I of course tell him yes.  I am the guardian of your childhood and I will watch over you, “guide you safely from the ways of harm and keep happy your heart, brave your soul and rosy your cheeks.  I will guard with my life all of your hopes and dreams, for you are all that I have, all that I am and all I will ever be.”  What better message from a parent to a child.  (the passage above is not necessarily verbatim, but you get my drift.)

I will always be your guardian, my boy.  Always!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

