A Funny Story, Sorta

My mom and I speak on the phone a couple of times a week and we see each other about every other weekend.  We have a good relationship and she helps with my son when I need it.  She is a life saver.  We have a lot in common and are also very different.

One thing we have in common, we hated living in that small town in Iowa.  A very small town.  In the 1980’s the population was a little over 800.  Everybody was up in everybody’s business.  The kids I went to school with were focused on what shoes and clothes to wear, who was the best athlete, who did best in school, etc.  If you weren’t in one of these crowds, you weren’t in.  Yeah, really.

One related story I recently told my mom is really funny.  I was wearing a pair of Lee jeans and they were a new design.  A girl, a grade lower than me noticed we had the same jeans.

“Hey, we have the same jeans.  That’s cool.”

“Yeah, did you get yours at Target too?”

“Hmph, NO, I got mine at JCPenney’s.”

Well, that ended the conversation.  My jeans were not good enough because I didn’t buy them at the right store.  Whatever.

This kind of thing doesn’t bother me much today.  Plus, I don’t run in crowds with people that care about where I bought my clothes or what label I am wearing.  As a single mom, I care more that I am able to put food on the table and a roof over my child’s head.

But I read a funny thing last night on Facebook.  One of my friends had posted something…well…snobby.

Dear master chef producers. Please do not say you only use the freshest top of the line ingredients on your show and then use Walmart beef. Ugh. Gross.”

Well, I grocery shop at Walmart.  I really have not choice in the matter because I pay $2 more on average per product (the exact same product) purchased at a regular grocery store.  And where I live, there is no Whole Foods, and if there was, I wouldn’t be able to shop there either.  So, I really take offense to this post.  I feel it demeans anyone that does shop at Walmart, and Gawd forbid, purchase their beef products, specifically me.  I shop there and I buy my beef there, when I eat beef.

I responded with “omg. i use walmart beef. i must be gross too. oh no”.  Yep, that’s me being catty in response.  

When I was in school, I would have kept quiet about something like this, but I am an adult.  I cannot believe that I even have to read about someone being snotty like this.  Isn’t high school over?  Really?  I mean, I love good, high quality food as much as the next person, but really…  Anyways, enough about this topic.  She went on to defend herself with more snobbery. 

 Her: No kristi. It’s not gross to use it. It’s decent for the price. But it’s not the highest quality beef you can buy. That’s what’s gross to me. Saying its the freshest quality ingredients. That’s bs.
Walmart is know for its economical advantage not its superior quality. Although things are different in your part if the world than they are here. You know that from living here!!

Other girl: Unfortunately all cows are not raised equally. If it has growth hormones, antibiotics and eat GMO corn, I would rather eat rice and beans.

Me:  yeah. i just don’t eat beef enough to be a connoisseur…

Her: I’m with you [so-and-so]! But some can’t afford that and low cost beef is all they get. It just bothers me that top chef is promoting it as a superior product.

Me: i guess i would be “some”…low income single mom over here. now if i could find me a rich hubby, all would be grand

I tried to end this string on a high note, but the post really bugged me and the responses bugged me.  The more they wrote, the more they bugged me.  Oh well.

She ended the comment string with:

Kristi.You’re doing something right for sure. We all do the best we can every day. Yesterday my best consisted of a lot of Disney jr! Lol”

And to that, my response was…

I didn’t think I was doing anything wrong. I am a pretty damn good mom. And be careful, that Disney Jr. will brainwash your kid.”

Yeah, I win!  I don’t let my kid watch Disney Jr!  That shit will rot your brain!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Childcare, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

