My Last Week

Today begins my last week of work.  Well, I can’t even call it a week.  In three days, Thursday, will be my last day.  I will receive one week of severance and my vacation will be paid out.  Once those funds run out (or time, whichever comes first), I will be able to apply for unemployment.  After receiving a month or so of unemployment, I will apply for food stamps and any other aid I can get.

And for some odd reason, I am not at all stressed about this change.  I am still receiving calls about jobs and I am being a bit picky.  I would rather get a job that I love and want to keep, than take a crap job for crap pay that’s located in Crapville.  I might take one of those for a moment, just to get by, but I want security and long term opportunity and I will not settle.

I hope to be let go early on Thursday so I can go celebrate by taking my kid to Monkey Joe’s.  I cannot wait…to get out of this stinkin’ job and I cannot wait to get out of the stinkin’ house I live in.  Both will be welcome changes.  And I cannot stress that enough.  The pure joy I will feel on moving day…oh…so…gratifying.

This is also my last week of smoking.  Well, I am actually supposed to be quitting this week.  I have less than a pack left and I’d like to finish it off…slowly, but surely.  I tapered down to a half pack from a whole pack last week.  We will see what this week brings.  I have a  feeling that being out of work is going to leave me bored and wanting…  I am hoping I can combat this somehow…maybe with all of my waiting projects, packing and playing with the kid.  I am looking forward to all of this stuff!

 

 

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Recession/Unemployed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Last Week

  1. cobyjean says:

    You’re leaving that stoop ever farther behind, aren’t you darling. Cheers! xoxoxo

    • smommy says:

      Yes, my dear. I am finally taking a break from stbx phone calls too. It’s been a peaceful 4 days…and decided to remove him from my facebook. I can’t deal with that… I don’t need or want to know what he’s doing all the time and with whom he’s doing it with. It feels good to get back to freedom.

  2. lily says:

    Wow, so many changes! Congratulations on getting out of a job that you do not like, and a house that you don’t like either. And, on quitting smoking. You can do it. Good for you, and for your child too, especially because chances are that you’ll be around a little bit longer if you quit. Anyway: sending you strength and best wishes to weather all of the changes, and happiness– so you’ll keep a smile on your face, knowing that you are headed for better things, better places. ~ Lily

    • smommy says:

      Thank you Lily. Tomorrow will be my first smoke free day and I am ready for it. I can’t wait to see how all of these changes take shape…It can only get better! 🙂

      • lily says:

        Heh, I say that to myself all of the time: “It can only get better!” But, I think it is true : ) Hugs, ~ Lily

Leave a Reply

