Looking Forward

As ominous as the coming days are feeling, I am also looking forward to quite a few things.

I received a memo on Friday explaining that my last day of work will be May 31.  I will get a week of severance pay and my unused vacation time will be paid out (which is roughly a week).  I will not be able to apply for unemployment for approximately two weeks after my last day of work.  After a month, I will begin applying for aid, such as food stamps, help with my energy bill, preschool expenses, etc.  I have decided to put a move off until I am able to secure a permanent job.  I need to get my car fixed and I am still waiting for the part to arrive since it’s on back-order.  This will run $600.  I would forgo the repair, since it’s not serious, but not having air conditioning in the heat that is Georgia would be pretty terrible.  My husband agreed to help me with the expense, so I am not going to stress.  Since I will be taking two online classes in June, I still have an unpaid balance of $250.  I also must pay my vehicle registration of $161.  Now, I’m not sure how I will come up with all of the money that I owe…but I am a pro at budgeting…with very little money.  I will make it work, somehow.  After these bills are paid, should be easy sailing…right?  (I hope.)

So for a week and a half, I am not going to worry.  Everything will work out in the end.  I will just look forward to a few things…like: sleeping in, getting to spend more time with my boy, finishing projects, having time to do lawn work and have a clean house, packing all unnecessary items in my house in preparation for a move, working on my tan (yes, I love it and I think I look better with a little color, instead of transparent like Casperette the unfriendly ghost), taking my son to Monkey Joe’s when it’s not crowded with monsters, taking walks, going to the park, maybe even reading a book or two….  Well, I guess I am looking forward to more than a few things.  Although I do hope this is temporary since it’s difficult to live without positive cash flow, I cannot wait until I get to do a few things for myself and for my son.  And I am so glad that it’s happening during the summer since there is much free stuff to do during the summer.  If it was winter, I’d worry about Christmas gifts and being stuck in the house during the cold un-fun months.

So, here’s to looking forward.  I cannot wait to be unemployed. 🙂

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Childcare, Parenting, Recession/Unemployed and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

