Reminder: Change Focus

I was recently reading an article, Moving On After Divorce and it reminded me that I need to remain focused on self-improvement.  I seemed to have left that behind since my big “scene” with my STBX at the beginning of this month.  suggested some attitude changes in order to become “great”.  So it got me thinking… I did begin to do this, but then I was stopped cold in my tracks…by ME.

One of her suggestions was:

Find work that engages you and continue to build on your marketable skills. This will not only keep your mind stimulated, but it will help you toward earning more money—you’ll need it. 

This is totally true.  I am so incredibly tired of being stuck as an assistant, I feel like I can’t breath anymore.  I feel stifled.  So, I decided that I would sign up for a couple of online college classes.  I did.  I am due to attend a marketing class and child development class in June.  I am excited.  I am doing something for me.  Another thing that excites me about this endeavor is in completing these classes, I will finally complete my Bachelors degree.  Who knew I was five units shy when I graduated?  Not me.  I could not drag that information out of my school, for some reason.  My general adviser sent me away when I asked him…he told me to talk to my major adviser.  I went to my major adviser and we both came to the conclusion that I had completed everything necessary.  When I did not receive my dip0loma, I phoned, emailed, went in person to the records office to inquire and was greeted with attitude and responses such as, “You should know why.”  Sure.  That’s why I’m here, I’m inquiring about something I already know and am here just to bug you for the moment.  Since I left the school, a new department was created in order to help those people like me to navigate the graduation process and to advise on graduation status.  I assume there are more people out there like me.  They had sent a letter, but it went to the wrong address and it was never forwarded.  I finally received a copy of that letter a couple of weeks ago.  It’s just five units.  My major curriculum is complete, my general curriculum is complete….I am just missing five units.  Whatever, I got this!  I just wish I would have known sooner so I could have gotten it out of the way.

So, it feels good that I am finally going to do something for myself.  I am finally going to move myself forward.  Hopefully, this will turn into more money.  And maybe this one good thing that I am doing for myself will turn into other good things.  After all, only I can take care of me!

This is my wish list:

  •  Plant flowers and herbs
  • Paint more often
  • Begin Zumba Classes again
  • Begin semi-gourmet cooking again
  • Read more…entertaining books (instead of self-help)
  • Have more fun…maybe with adults one of these days
  • Go back to school for marketing and creative writing…these are areas where I’d like to improve and move into in the business realm

It’s a short list, but it’s enough to get me started.  What are you going to do different?  What are you going to do for yourself?

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

