Dreaming of Snakes

Scary Black Cobra.  Looks just like the one in my dream that reared it's head at me. Yikes!

Downloaded from free-extras.com/

Last night I woke up in a sweat.  I had a dream that I was surrounded by snakes, cobras, in fact.  Yikes.  I hate snakes…so why was I dreaming of them?

Of course I had to come right in and research the meaning of my dream.  I could only think it related to my current struggles.  Did you know they have a website for that?  Not just for interpreting dreams, but interpreting snake dreams…who knew?

According to snakedreams.org it could mean any of the following: (verbatim, from the website above)

  • A snake is a symbol of the unconscious
  • Snakes or serpents indicate you’re in the process of healing and resolving issues
  • The snake is a symbol for an untamed part of yourself or an untapped resource
  • Snakes could represent your intuition or spiritual aspects of yourself; your instinctual drive, what moves you from the depths of your soul
  • Snakes or serpents tend to show up in dreams in times of transition and transformation
  • From the classic Freudian perspective, a snake or serpent is a phallic symbol

Well, I definitely do not think it’s the Freudian interpretation.  Hmmm…I don’t think.  I mean, really.  It’s been over a year since I have been laid.  And there is no desire at this time to pursue that type of “snake”.

But any of the others could totally be plausible.  As the first one states, I am definitely in the process of healing and resolving.  That is a good sign.  The second one…I could have some untapped resource…not sure about that one though.  As my job search continues, it seems my resources are slimming.  But who knows, maybe there is an “untapped resource” which will just fall in my lap one of these days.  Wouldn’t that be nice!

I’m afraid to think about the third one.  I think I am running solely on “instinctual drive” right now.  My instincts say, “Stay afloat.  Keep going.  You will find a job and a new place to live soon.”  My fear is driving me.  And that fear stirs my soul oh so much that I must act in order to quell it.  I can’t sit and wait to see what comes.  I must act.

And the fourth one…applies oh so well.  I am definitely in a time of transition and transformation.  So much so, that it is indeed scary.  In my dream, I was surrounded by snakes.  Everywhere I went, there was another one and I couldn’t ignore my fear of them, as much as I tried.

Dammit, I am scared right now.  I am scared to the bone of losing my job and a place to live.  Part of me knows that all will be fine and even if I don’t get either squared away immediately, peace will come shortly after.  But that does not stop me from feeling that cold dread that comes with finding out your sense of security is about to be shattered.

I will keep focusing on the positive change that is coming and keeping the fear to my dreams, just below the surface.  I know things will work out fine in the end.  I know this.  They always do.

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dreaming of Snakes

  1. lily2u1 says:

    I don’t know anything about snake dreams, but thinking of you and sending you strength, wishes, luck, prayers! ~ Lily

  2. cal3b00 says:

    As far as I can tell based on my culture being heavily influenced by our Chinese neighbors in Asia. They do mean luck and even better if got bitten which means prosperity. A snake turning into a dragon means someone will be extending help to your misfortune. In this case you said you were surrounded.

    In my own opinion of being the rational person that I am. I would say forget about it and just make the best of what we have. Dreams can be cause by a lot of things subconsciously pushed at the back of our minds manifests as dreams when we’re asleep. Would it be possible that your fears are the cause of this manifestations in your dream. It’s always something to ponder about, but don’t let worry you too much after all it’s just a dream. Take care. (“,)

Leave a Reply

