Affordable Daycare?

As a single parent receiving little child support is beginning to be a bit detrimental, mostly in the realm of an early education for the kid.

Since my son’s third birthday last month, he is daily becoming a force to recon with.  His energy abounds and his longing to learn and soak up everything around him is becoming a bit exhausting.  He is constantly asking, “What is that?”  He can count to about 17, knows all of his letters, shapes and colors.  He’s even beginning to write a few of them with his sidewalk chalk.  He isn’t quite able to recite the ABC Song, but get’s better at it everyday.  He currently stays with my mother while I’m at work and this works pretty well.  I pay her very little and purchase any food and beverage that my son will consume during his stay in her home.  She has become a great teacher to him and they love each others company.  But as of late, his energy level and output is visibly becoming more than she can handle.  She is getting on in years and her old back injury puts strain and limits on what she can do with the kid.  With this turn of events, it is clear I need to find a preschool for him, STAT.

He needs a more structured learning environment and he needs a place where he can socialize with children his own age (which he greatly lacks right now).  He also needs that energy drain.  I was thinking a few days a week would be perfect.  I figure a few days a week will be much less expensive than an entire week, plus it still gives grandma time with her “boy”.  I began calling around to all of the area childcare “institutions” and am finding that I really cannot afford even a few days a week.  To have him in preschool for an entire week is only a about $10-20 more.

Every single representative I have spoken with in regards to dealing on tuition or pricing tells me to apply for aid.  This is something I have already looked into and wouldn’t you guess, I do not qualify.  Nope.  I make too much money to qualify for aid and I make too little to afford preschool for my son.

When I spoke with my husband about it and asking if he could help financially, he was all for it.  He knows the reasons he needs to go and he is a good father that does whatever his son needs.  But when I told him the weekly rate, I thought he was going to have a heart attack or something.  I think he was all for it until he heard the prices.  (I didn’t tell him about the registration fees, he probably would’ve passed out.)  I ended the conversation with telling him that I am still searching, looking at some local Baptist churches and whatnot…. But to be honest, I am not sure a Baptist church will have the programs I am seeking, as well as me having “issues” with this type of program.

I am also hesitant about using local churches because: A) I don’t belong to any of the local churches, B) I don’t believe in organized religion, and C) the hypocrisy that exists within conservative, southern churches is less than palpable to me.  Just going to my nieces Baptist run basketball games was pretty painful.  Seeing the hypocrisy up close and personal.  It’s painful to watch and witness, really.  Don’t get me wrong, I adore the message of love and equality they send.  What I do not like is the lack of love and equality they actually show.  There is nothing equal or loving about the environment, as much as they’d like to say that there is.  My momma always taught me (right or wrong), actions speak louder than words.  I believe this to be much more applicable for churches and I hold them more accountable than any other institution or individual.  Yep, Imma tough on these people…they are snobs and stick to only what and who they know.

So you see my quandary?  What is a girl to do with her son that is longing for that stimulation and interaction?  Would you stifle your belief system just to save money on preschool?  We will see what the outcome is, as it is still under consideration.  I feel like I would be just as bad as them if I didn’t at least give it an equal chance….

The societal economic situation I am in right now most likely is not the toughest I will see.  I’m sure it’s just the beginning.  My kid deserves the best I can give him, not the best that I can afford.  I hate settling!  Hate it!  I wish there were more affordable options available in this economic time of need.  I cannot be the only one to be facing such an issue.  Am I?

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Childcare, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

