I Love It When…

Because you are three and growing up so fast, I MUST document each beautiful thing you say, the funny, cute, sweet, loveable things you do.  These moments are fleeting and I do not want to forget the most memorable things that make you, YOU!

From morning to night, my days are filled with the most joyful memories, from the mundane to the brilliant.  I am in awe and cannot help but smile a big smile as I watch and listen to all those little things.  I do not want to forget, and even as this three years has passed, I can’t help feel that I am forgetting some of those lovely things you did when you were itty bitty.  I wish I had been better at documenting many of those little things that I did not capture with the camera….but no regrets.  Documenting your loveliness begins now.

When the dance music is turned up, you boogie with the best of them.  Switching your hips, shaking your head and all to the rhythm in the right way.  It makes me proud you gained my ability to dance to the beat.

When I whisper softly “I love you” right before you are about to fall asleep, I love the way you whisper back in that sleepy voice “I love you mommy”.  Even more so, I love, love, love when you say, “I love you more mommy.”

This morning I was doing my best impression of Mater from one of your favorite Cars stories, The Ghost Light.  When I balked out in a southern accent, you told me, “You are funny mommy!”  Giggling all the while.  Which leads me to another one…

I love your giggles.  I am addicted and can never get enough.  When I tell you to give me a high five and I tickle you while your arm is raised…you keep doing it so you can get that tickle and I can get my giggles from you.  It never fails!

I love watching you hug and kiss the dogs, even after they snap at you or eat the rest of your dinner that you left on the table.

I have loved watching you learn and soak up new things.  You have been counting since you were one, slowly increasing the amount to which you could count.  Right now, you are up to 14.  Now you are learning to write your letters and mommy is so proud.  I don’t care if you can recite the entire alphabet in one sitting… This past week, you have been learning to read some words and writing your letters on the sidewalk with the large colored chalk.  You are going to be smarter than your mommy and your daddy combined.

I love that you want to be wrapped in your towel and cuddled tight after your bath.  You claim that you are cold, but I think you just want mommy cuddles and am oh so happy to oblige you little one.

I love that you already have your own mind and make your own decisions (the ones I allow you).  I received some excellent advise from an acquaintance once that I should let you make choices…given a couple that I choose of course, and you have done well in making yourself happy with those choices.  This has also made you smart enough to realize that the choice you made is the one you must stick with, even if you end up wanting something else.  For example last night, you asked me on the way home if we could take a walk.  Again, happy to oblige some one on one with my kiddo.  But when we did get home, you wanted to play in the backyard.  I gave you the choice of the backyard or taking a walk and you chose the backyard.  Just before it dusk hit, you said you wanted to go for a walk.  I told you that you chose to play outside instead and it was getting too dark for us to begin a walk.  You were disappointed, but you understood and didn’t have any qualms about your decision.  I am proud of you for that.

I love that your tantrums are few and far between.  I think this is because you get to make decisions.  I give you the choice of behaving or time out!  Don’t get me wrong, there are times that you choose time out and I love that you choose that sometimes.  You are smart enough to know when you need a little time to cool down.  And when you do, I love those hugs and when you say “sorry mommy”.

I love that you love your family.  Your Aunt Tracy, Uncle Joe, Aunt Cathy, AJ, Ella, Sam, Grandma, Grandpa, and Grandma Muriel.  I love that you give them hugs and kisses before parting ways, no matter how often we see them…whether it’s every day or every weekend or only on occasion.  You always share your love.

And speaking of love, you are the most sweet, loving, friendly kid that I know.  You have your shy moments, but the love and kindness you already exude leaves me awestruck.  You already have me beat by leaps and bounds in that department.  I hope that this is a quality you will retain always.

I love it when you talk to your daddy on the phone and give him kisses and hugs and even big squeezes…holding tight to that phone as if he could really feel the love coming from your arms.

I love that you stop to sing the Thomas and Friends song to complete strangers.  And I love that you think everyone wants to hear it.  I am grateful to those strangers for stopping to listen and cheer you on when you finish.  Good kid!

I love that this post will be continued because I love everything you do!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

