What’s Your Poop Face?

His post poop face...little teary eyed and worn from the pushing.

My little guy is finally potty trained! Wooooo Hooooo! As any parent can tell you, this is big, momentous even.  Not only is it a milestone in any toddlers life, it also means the end of having to purchase diapers and pull-ups or any other absorbent pee and poo catcher! My life has become so much easier… Well…mostly.

My kid is afraid to poop. He hates it. He says it hurts. My poor baby hates doing something that should feel soooo good. It might smell pretty bad, but it feels oh so good. My sister and I used to sing to the tune of the old Alka Seltzer commercials in the bathroom while we were pooping: “Plop, Plop, Fizz, Fizz…Oh what a relief it is… Fast Fast Fast!” That little ditty sums it all up.

This kid holds it in until the last possible moment. I even bought him a book called “It Hurts When I Poop” by Howard J. Bennett. It’s been helping a little, but his diet is off. He is an extremely picky eater. I have to supplement with fiber vitamins and I sneak some FiberOne cereal in with his Cinnamon Toast Crunch.

I feel for the kid. It’s getting easier for him to poop on the potty, but he still cries. And last night, though he was hurting a bit, I couldn’t help myself. He made the cutest poop faces. I thought I was gonna die! My husband was on the phone with us while he was pooping and he wanted a picture of that face. I held my phone up to take a picture of that sweet poop face and my son blurts out, “Mommy, Don’t do that?”

I said, “Do what, honey?”

I clicked the button and snapped the photo.

“That.”  He says with a annoyed and weary tone.

Mommy Fail!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Childcare, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

