Chic Problems?

Although I pride myself on professionalism in the office, I am probably the most immature person I know that is near my age.  I laugh at poo, poo jokes and one of the first words I taught my cute little kid is “fart”, which he says it “fawt”.  LOVE IT!  However, the people, mainly the women, in my office do not appreciate my humor or even my sarcasm…the funny kind, not the hurtful kind…just to be clear on that.

This is a prank I pulled on my boss. I followed the easy youtube instructional video and left it on his office chair so he could find it upon his return from lunch. Jackpot of all pranks. Worked like a dream!

A little set up… When I was hired on, it was amidst some serious transition.  My current boss, the boss of everyone in the building, had just relocated from the Oklahoma City office and was taking over the operations in the conservative Central Georgia office.  In this process, he decided he needed an assistant and began the search and found me.  Also, in the process, one of the ladies was told by an outgoing Director (and when I say outgoing, I mean fired or forced to retire) that she would be promoted to office manager.  But because of my boss’ need for an assistant, he denied that promotion.  With those decisions in place, I was already set up to be resented, or even hated.

My boss is a guy’s guy, the kind that totally laughs at poo jokes and other under appreciated bodily functions.  Since joining his team, I find myself to be pulled more to the side of immaturity and good ol’ office fun.  In our opinion, we are the most fun people in our office full of stifling snobbery and southern propriety.  Neither of us is used to this type of environment and I guess that’s why we get along so darn well, besides the fact that we both act like twelve-year-old boys. We are respectful in that we try to be full of that humor with one another only, trying to not leak it out to the remainder of the office population.  When we get to joking and telling stories, our laughs are heard around the office.  Whether people appreciate our humor or not, I am pretty much always smiling and perky because of this interaction with the boss-man.

There is a high school-ish clique in our office made up of women that have worked here for many, many years and are all about a decade apart in age.  They stick together and are always in synch when it comes to trying to rob me of my smile or chippery attitude in the office.  I have never experienced this level of disdain before.  I mean, I am no stranger to some workplace issues, but never of this magnitude where people will go out of their way in attempt to kill my spirit.  I am obviously not one of those people that you can’t help liking…in fact, I am probably an acquired taste to many, but I am never mean or bullish.  I say what I mean and do not talk shit behind people’s backs.  I say what I need to say to those people and move on.  I am not one to hold back.

Without getting into the crap issues I have with all of them… I wish, just wish…all of us women could band together and not tear each other apart.  Why are we haters?  I’m not gonna lie, I’ve hated on some people before and I have a rule about that.  Kind of the 3 Strikes and You’re Out type of rule…sometimes I oblige by giving more understanding given certain circumstances.  If someone is mean to me 3 times, I give up.  At work, it’s the same.  I give up on these women.  As much as I’d like to give more chances because they are my fellow human, woman and coworker…I just can’t.  I am out of patience and it ticks me off that this is something I must deal with on a daily basis.

However, amidst all of this petty, catty, woman-anger, there are many people here who do like me and treat me well, men and women alike.  They far outnumber those that don’t.  And to those people that dislike me: Please just stay away from me.  If you feel you must talk about me in the hallways, please refrain, as someone most likely will come and tell me about it or I will overhear it myself (yes, that’s happened – I caught ya, silly bastard).

I hope everyone out there has a loverly and most awesome day.  If anyone gives you crap, don’t take it.  We are human, not doormats!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

