Off to the Damn Urgent Care We Go

Doesn't he look cute and pitiful all at the same time?

My kid has been running a pretty high temperature for an entire day.  The best read I could get was about 101.6, but I took his temp while screaming and squirming because he wanted nothing to do with that thing I was trying to put in his mouth or under his armpit.  I kept telling him that these places were way better than me having to stick it up his butt.  But…he still didn’t care.

So, on Saturday afternoon, when his temp finally began to rise again, I rushed him over to the closest Urgent care.  It was a small place so we didn’t have to wait long, but it was long enough.  As soon as we were placed in a room, the nurse promptly took the kids temperature and found it to be 104.  I gasped, but knew it had to be high.  She asked when I had last given him Tylenol and I told her “3:00am”.  As this was the last time his temp was pretty high.  She also asked me why I hadn’t given him any recently…. I told her that I wanted him to have his temp taken here so we could get an accurate read and accurate diagnosis.  After all, I figured if he didn’t have the temp when we went in, I feared we would be sent home and nothing done.  I am totally new to this parent thing and, hell, my kid is NEVER sick.  If he is, it’s totally minor so I had no idea what to do.  This whole kid thing is a learning experience for me.  And, it’s not like the kid can tell me what’s wrong.  He’s smart, but not that smart.  My 2 year old cannot verbalize what is ailing him.

So, needless to say, the doctor walks in and promptly gives me a dirty look.  I’m already feeling bad for my poor child and now feeling worse because apparently, the doctor thinks I’m a bad mother.  But I shot back and scolded the doctor “Don’t give me that dirty look, there is a reason I didn’t give him any medicine.”  He responds by somewhat softening the dirty look then says “well, you should not wait to give your child medicine, give it to him immediately when he has a fever.”

Well, no shit!  Seriously!  Maybe I am wrong for letting my son run a fever for an hour before medicating him…I am not sure.  I can only learn from my mistakes.   Like I said, there are reasons for the shit that I do, including not medicating my kid.  So, this is the stupid story and my reasons…

One: at 3:00am, I gave my son the last of the Tylenol I had stashed at the house.  I knew I had a spare bottle in his backpack.

Two: that morning, I woke up and found that the spare bottle was not in his backpack at all and it must’ve fallen out at my caregivers.  When he did wake up in the morning, his fever was slight, not like that night…so I put him in a cool bath and his temperature dropped.

Three, I wanted to take him to the doctor when his temp was at the highest so they could give me the best diagnosis and not be ignored or sent home.

I expect the worst when going to the doctor…not that the worst is wrong, just the worst possible care.  I have lost faith in doctors, and dentists for that matter, as I feel like I am getting my car fixed and end up getting scammed in some way or getting sent home because they can’t find the problem.  Well, I didn’t want this to happen to my kid.  I wanted the doctor to see that there is a problem and a high fever and not be sent home and told nothing is wrong.

Well, it turns out he has tonsillitis and strep throat.   He was given antibiotics and now he is doing so much better.  In fact, better than before….I can’t keep up with this kid.  And now, I am not feeling well.  But that’s for another blog…’cause this is a funny story unto itself!

About smommy

I am a single mom, by choice. I decided to separate from my husband and an unhappy marriage over three years ago. My son was two at the time. I am pretty much raising my kid on my own with occasional support of my family when I need it. (I don't like to admit I need it, ever!) My soon to be ex-husband (STBX) is an alcoholic and after we separated and he moved back to San Francisco, he became a drug addict also. Life is a struggle, but a sweet one since I have this awesome boy and we love each other sooooo much! Now, if I could magically be divorced, that would be great...but alas, I cannot force him to sign the documents. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, but there are moments when it seems so far away and unreachable.
This entry was posted in Childcare, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Off to the Damn Urgent Care We Go

  1. kantal113 says:

    I disagree with that doctor. I almost never immediately medicate my kids when they have fevers. If it’s below 100, I just wait it out. A fever is a good thing. It’s the body’s reaction to fighting off an infection. If he seems alright and isn’t in any pain, then the meds can wait.
    I’ll check him every hour or so, and if it gets above 100, I’ll give him some meds.
    A mild fever (anything below 101) isn’t dangerous, and is just a sign that their little bodies are hard at work, fighting off whatever is ailing them.
    Sorry your wee one has strep. That’s a tough one to deal with. Hope you don’t have it, too. Take care.

Leave a Reply

